Legacy Museum hosts program on spiritual music

The church has long been central to the African American experience and spiritual music has been a key element of religious expression. In recognition of this important aspect of American history, the Legacy Museum of African American History will host a program of spiritual music and historical reflections at 3 p.m., Sunday, July 10 at Court Street Baptist Church.

The program, ‘We Used to Have Church,’ will feature spiritual selections by The Soulsters of the Hill and Dominic Davis and friends. Dr. Lauranett Lee, historian with the Virginia Historical Society, will talk about the roots of African American spirituality. The program is, also, a fundraiser for the Museum; a goodwill offering will be taken.

Dr. Lee is the guest curator of the Museum’s current exhibit, “Celebrating Community! The Legacy Museum’s First Ten Years,” a retrospective exhibit that includes artifacts from the 2003-04 exhibit, “By God’s Grace: the African American Worship Experience in Central Virginia, 1820-1950”.

Court Street Baptist was Church was selected as the venue for this program because of its historical significance. It is regarded by many as “the mother church” of Lynchburg’s black Baptists. The congregation was organized in 1843 when it split from its parent church, the white First Baptist Church. The present church was built in 1880.

This entertaining, educative program will be of interest to young and old alike. The public is invited to learn more about their history and to support the Museum’s efforts to preserve and pass along our history.

Cheryl Robinson, Museum Administrator 434-845-3455; legacymuseum@ntelos.net
Carla Heath, publicity chair 434-846-4229
Lauranett Lee, Virginia Historical Society 804-342-9698; llee@vahistorical.org

- From a release

Leave Comments

Comments are closed.